In the 1970s, the Durham Regional Police Service was formed which was consolidated from seven distinct municipal police forces. This innovative endeavor sought to enhance efficiency, coordination, and community safety across the diverse regions we serve.
As the newly formed organization took shape, it marked a pivotal moment in the history of policing in the Durham Region. Amidst these changes, the inception of the Auxiliary Unit was formed within DRPS by adding another dimension to its commitment to public service. This Auxiliary Unit is a testament to the DRPS’ adaptability and responsiveness, which became an integral component in fostering community engagement and support. Together, these developments laid the foundation and shaped the trajectory of the Durham Regional Police Service in the decades to come.
  • The Durham Regional Police was formed.
  • Possible names were “Durham”, “McLaughlin”, “Oshawa” and “Pickering”. Durham was selected.
  • Amalgamation of seven municipal police forces.
  • Chief Jon Jenkins was the police chief until 1988.
  • Completion of the new Oshawa police station (Headquarters).
  • Police cars were blue and white.
  • Staffing: 224 personnel. 1 – Cannington 127 – Oshawa 5 – Uxbridge 13 – Bowmanville 17- Ajax 29 – Pickering 32 – Whitby.
  • 38 Police Vehicles.
  • Cars were painted blue and white new force’s logo applied to both doors.
  • 1974 saw 57,000 calls for service, 38,000 motor vehicle accidents (31 fatalities).
  • With the 1974 amalgamation, the DRPS began an Identification Branch consisting of two officers.
  • The Fraud Unit was created in 1974 and had one member.
  • The customary “one man” cars changed in 1976. As a part of the collective bargaining, the Police Association along with the Police Service initiated a mandate requiring zoned areas to have “two man” cruisers during certain hours of the day.
  • In 1976 Durham Regional Police retired the original blue and white cruiser and shiny new yellow cars were gradually phased in.
  • The first Explosive Disposal Unit was established in 1976.
  • In 1976, The Durham Regional Police formed the Crimes Against Persons unit, more commonly known as the CAP Squad. The CAP Squad investigated mostly person related crimes including all forms of physical assaults, sexual assaults, robberies, sudden and suspicious deaths and homicide. The CAP Squad functioned with two teams of three members until May 1988 when the Service determined that there was a need for an independent and specialized unit to investigate the sexual related assaults (both historical and current) and other morality type offences. The new investigative unit became the Morality Unit.
  • In July 1977 the Durham Regional Police Auxiliary Unit was formed.
1978 Recruit Photo, Back row left to right: Mitch Colling, Harold Curwain, Reg Harmsen, Stan Piersma, Steve Mackey. Middle Row: Gary Pursey, Phil Ross, Dave Kimmerly, Joe Bennett, Mike Swaga, Dave Bryers. Front Row: Dave Henderson, Gwen Cutler, Lynn Alex (Kantautus), Pat Snowden (Mills), Garth Moore. Missing: Jack Dancey
  • The Ontario Provincial Police assisted with the transition. In 1979 they relinquished policing the north area of the region, finally completing the amalgamation.
  • In January 1979, the Safety Bureau of the Durham Regional Police Force amalgamated with the Crime Prevention Bureau making one unit known as the Community Services Bureau. The purpose was to utilize Safety Bureau personnel in other areas such as victims of crime and Crime Prevention programs.
  • In 1979 the Underwater Search and Recovery Unit was formed, which was also known as the Dive Team.